We host the Boston/Cambridge Election Science Working Group at MIT, a monthly gathering of faculty, graduate students, and other researchers who are interested in the scientific study of elections.  

The meeting schedule for the 2017–2018 academic year is as follows (please stay tuned for updates):

Sept. 14: Introductory and Kick-off Meeting

Oct. 12: Dr. Pippa Norris, ARC Laureate Fellow and Professor of Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney, the Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, and Director of the Electoral Integrity Project.

Nov. 9: Dana Chisnell from the Center for Civic Design, will talk about "The Epic Journey of American Voters".  Here's a preview.

Dec. 14: Ron Rivest, MIT Institute Professor, and Jennifer Morrell, Deputy of Elections and Recording in Arapahoe County, CO, on post-election audits.

Jan. 11

Feb. 8

Mar. 8

Apr. 12

May 10

All meetings take place on Thursdays from 5:00 - 6:30pm on the MIT campus at the following location:

Building E53, Room 482 (Millikan Room)
30 Wadsworth Street
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Click here for the map.

If you would like to be added to the mailing list, please go to this link and fill out the form with your name and e-mail address.

Previous Year's Schedule (2016–2017):

Oct. 13: Lightning talks

Nov. 17: Post-election show-and-tell

Dec. 15: Meet with the campaign professionals

Jan. 12: Boston election officials

Mar. 9: Lightning talks with Danny Hidalgo, Berj Chilingirian and Zara Perumal

Apr. 13: Lightning talks with Enrico Cantoni: “Turnout in Concurrent Elections: Theory and Evidence from Italy” (with Ludovica Gazzè) and Daniel Moskowitz: “Let’s Party: How the Interplay between Individual and District Partisanship Affects Turnout” (with Bernard Fraga and Benjamin Schneer).

May 11: Matt Masterson, one of the three commissioners of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission. Informal discussion about the security of the electoral system in the 2016 election.