By applying scientific principles to how elections are studied and administered, MEDSL aims to improve the democratic experience for all U.S. voters.


Our lab supports advances in election science by collecting, analyzing, and sharing core data and findings. We also aim to build relationships with election officials and others to help apply new scientific research to the practice of democracy in the United States.


We are committed to the improvement of scholarship and practice in election science through high-quality data gathering and analysis.


In our own work and our collaborations with others, we adhere to the highest scientific standards of honesty, observability, and collegiality. 


By grounding our work in data and the scientific method, our recommendations aim to improve democratic practice for everyone.


Our staff of social scientists, researchers, and students are committed to improving democracy in the United States by promoting the application of scientific principles to the understanding of election administration.

Core Team

Founding Director
Camilla Alarcon
Senior Research Associate
Research Scientist
Communications Director
Postdoctoral Fellow
Senior Research Associate
A young white woman stands in front of a stone building. Her hair is curled around her shoulders and she smiles at the camera.
Senior Research Associate
Program Coordinator
Jack Williams
Senior Research Associate

Current Graduate Researchers

Jacob Jaffe

Current Undergraduate Researchers

Fernanda Gonzalez
Kaiwen Guo
Amanda Webb
Charlotte Wu

MEDSL Alumni

Senior Research Associate
Abigale Belcrest
Program Coordinator
Laurel Bliss
Senior Research Associate
Senior Research Associate
Jacob Coblentz
Senior Research Associate
Research Scientist
Robert Pressel
Senior Research Associate
Senior Research Associate
Anna Weissman
Senior Research Associate
Research Director

Former Graduate Researchers

Andrew Halterman
Connor Phillips
Blair Read
Laura Royden

Former Undergraduate Researchers

Sophia Abdelrahman
Kelechi Alfred-Igbokwe
Julia Ansolabehere
Andrea Arias
Lily Bailey
Laine Beauchemin
Kelsey Becker
Mustafa Ben
Reginald Best
Luka Bulic Braculj
Anna Caldwell-Overdier
Julia Campbell
Graham Cartright
Zhenjia Chen
Faith Davenport
Nisha Devasia
Jennifer Duan
Benjamin Ebanks
Sarah Edgar
Izzy Gelfand
Daniel Gonzalez
Yun Gu
Rachel Harris
Christina James
Zachary Johnson
Annie Kang
Emily Kohn
Liberty Ladd
Diana Lam
Christina Lin
Rachel Lipofsky
Emma Lurie
Alex Meredith
Sam Pauley
Manuel Perez
Kathryn Sessa
Pallavi Sethi
Daniel Stewart
Kathryn Tso
Alex Vu
Emerson Webb
Phyllis Wei
Emily Weinschreider
Andy Xu
Jennifer Yu
Silvia Zelaya
Miray Zeynep Omurtak
Cassandra Zheng
George Zheng
Sophia Zheng

Advisory Board

Lonna Rae Atkeson, LeRoy Collins Institute, Florida State University

Barry C. Burden, Department of Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Lori Edwards, Polk County, Florida Supervisor of Elections

Edward B. Foley, Moritz College of Law, The Ohio State University

Bernard L. Fraga, Department of Political Science, Indiana University

Amanda M. Grandjean, Director of Elections, Ohio

Paul Gronke, Political Science Department, Reed College

Kathleen Hale, Department of Political Science, Auburn University

Kevin Kennedy, State of Wisconsin, Retired

Jan Leighley, Department of Government, American University

Dean C. Logan, Los Angeles County, California Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk

Christopher B. Mann, Department of Political Science, Skidmore College

Amber McReynolds, Founding CEO, National Vote At Home Institute

Tammy Patrick, Senior Advisor, Democracy Fund

Daron R. Shaw, Department of Government, The University of Texas at Austin

Michelle Tassinari, Director/Legal Counsel, Elections Division, Massachusetts

Christopher Thomas, Michigan Bureau of Elections Director, Retired

Michael B. Winn, Election Director, Harris County, Texas

Our Funders

Logo block

Job Opportunities

We do not have any current job openings, but you can follow our newsletter and social media for updates on opportunities. If you are interested in an MIT Undergraduate Research Opportunity, please contact us. 


For more information on how to get involved please contact
Claire DeSoi